PRE-QUALIFICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR
KENAI RIVER GUIDES

To pre-qualify for issuance of a 2016 permit, all Kenai River Guide permit applicants shall be required to submit the
following information. Photocopies can be made at the Gilman River Center. Scenic or Non-Fishing commercial
operators will be required to provide the information described except for Numbers 5, 8 and 9. Please take time to look
them over.

1. Applicants for Kenai River guide permits must be 18 years of age.

2. Allfishing guides need to successfully pass the Kenai River Guide Academy course prior to applying for an Alaska
State Park permit. For more information you can contact the Kenai Peninsula College at (907-262-0344). A web
site is also available with the KRGA information: www.krga.org. A copy of your Kenai River Guide academy
certificate is required for registration.

All new scenic or non-fishing guides are required to attend a mandatory 6 hour orientation. All of the
orientation sessions will be held in Cooper Landing. Starting in 2016 all new non-fishing permittees in
addition to attending the Parks and outdoor recreation orientation will have to present their safety briefing
that they would give to their clients. This presentation will be one on one with a Parks staff person and be
conducted on the same day as the orientation. Please call the State Parks Permitting office (907-714-2471) to
inquire on the orientation session dates and location.

3. Avalid Business License for the individual business. The telephone number for the Alaska Department of
Commerce and Economic Development in Juneau is (907) 465-2550 or in Anchorage is (907) 269-8173. More
information about business licenses is available on the State website. The Internet address is
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us/occ/home bus_licensing.htm

4. A Kenai Peninsula Borough (KPB) Sales Tax Account: For established accounts: Enclosed is the form that you

will need to obtain your account update. You can do this in person, by mail, or by fax. The Borough needs your
signature to release any information to us. For new tax accounts: Please contact the KPB Sales Tax Department
to open a sales tax account. The KPB building is at 144 North Binkley Street, Soldotna, Alaska 99669. Contact the
KPB at (907) 714-2175 if you have any questions.

5. The ADF&G Business Owner/Guide License for the current year.
Applications for 2016 are available at ADF&G offices or at the Kenai River Center. Stickers and logbooks will also
be available at the Kenai River Center. Plan to pay for the ADF&G License with a separate check or money order.
We cannot accept cash or credit cards for this registration. Licenses can be purchased online at:
https://www.adfg.alaska.gov

6. A valid U.S. Coast Guard Commercial six-passenger license. This is required by federal law of all powerboat
operators (any vessel powered by any motor). Non-motorized boating operations not carrying a motor do not
need this license. The telephone number for the U.S. Coast Guard Licensing is (888-427-5662.



Pre-qualification Requirements
Page 2 of 3

7.

10.

11.

12.

13.

POWER BOAT OPERATORS: Documentation with expiration date that shows you are registered with a U.S. Coast
Guard Certified and approved random drug testing program. You need to be sure your program will notify the

Coast Guard in U.S. Coast Guard License. Drug testing requirements: Kenai River guides who hold Coast Guard
licenses to operate a vessel under power must provide proof of their enrollment in a random drug testing
program (per Coast Guard requirements).

NON-POWER BOAT OPERATORS: Unless otherwise registered in a random drug testing program, Kenai River
fishing guides who operate non-motorized vessels are required to provide proof of a negative drug test

administered no more than 30 days before the date of having their permit issued. Please contact the State Parks
Permitting office at 907-714-2471 regarding program specifics.

Applicants for sport fishing guide permits may not have been convicted of a felony within the past five years and
may not have been convicted of more than one misdemeanor violation of a provision of 5 AAC47-5AAC 75 (Fish
and Game regulations) within the past five years.

A valid Alaska Sport Fishing License and Tags. (Required of all operators taking clients sport fishing (5 AAC
75.075(c)(3).) To receive an application form, contact the Alaska Department of Fish and Game: Licensing
Section; P.O. Box 25525; Juneau, Alaska 99802-5525, or any vendor authorized to sell licenses. You may also
purchase fishing licenses via the Internet: https://www.adfg.alaska.gov

A current driver’s license or government issues picture 1.D.

A current State of Alaska Boat Registration card is required for all power boats and non powered boats used for
sport fishing. The state registration is valid for three years and will expire at the end of the month in which the
boat is first registered. The Certificate of Number must be carried aboard the boat whenever it is in operation.
The boat registration form and more information about the program are available from the Department of
Motor Vehicles on the State web site. The address is http://doa.alaska.gov/dmv/forms/forms.htm. If you have

guestions please contact the DMV in the Red Diamond Center on Kalifornsky Beach Road or call them at (907)
262-4681.

The permittee shall furnish proof to the authorizing officer that he/she has commercial liability insurance to
cover commercial operations and such insurance will be approved by the authorizing officer. A minimum of
$100,000 per person/S300,000 combined single limit per occurrence commercial liability insurance is required
and the policy MUST name the “State of Alaska as additional insured”.

All certificates must provide a 30-day prior written notice to the Kenai Area Superintendent: Division of Parks
and Outdoor Recreation; Gilman River Center; 514 Funny River Road; Soldotna, Alaska 99669; telephone: (907)
714-2471; fax: (907) 260-5992, of cancellations, non-renewal or material alteration of such insurance or lapse of
insurance.

A valid American Red Cross Basic First Aid certification or the equivalent, with expiration date.
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14. Proof of Alaska State Vehicle and Boat Trailer registration. Alaska law requires that vehicles be registered in
Alaska once the owner begins working in the state. Any vehicles or boat trailers used for a guide business need
to be registered commercially. Contact the Division of Motor Vehicles in the Red Diamond Center of Kalifornsky
Beach Road or at (907) 262-4681 if you have questions.

15. Effective January 1, 2016, a $100.00 non-refundable permit application processing fee will be applied in addition
to all State Park commercial operator permit application fees.

The commercial operator fee for Kenai River Fishing Guides commercial permits has not changed and remains
$700.00 for residents and $1600.00 for non-residents. Therefore in total, resident fishing guides will have to
pay $800 and a non-resident fishing guides $1700.

The commercial operator fee for scenic or non-fishing guides commercial permits has not changed and
remains $250.00 for residents and $750.00 for non-residents Therefore in total, resident scenic guides will
have to pay $350 and non-resident scenic guides $850.

The commercial operator fee for scenic or non-fishing guides operating within that portion of the Kenai River
Special Management Area, bounded by the Kenai National Wildlife Refuge and who are required to obtain a
special use permit from the Kenai National Wildlife Refuge commercial use permit has not changed and
remains $100.00 for residents and $300.00 for non-residents. Therefore in total, resident scenic guides will
have to pay $200 and non-resident scenic guides $400.

16. END OF SEASON REPORTS: Any person operating under a Commercial Use Permit must submit their State Park
Use Report prior to any permits being issued for the following season. This report is due on or before December

1 of the permitted season. Commercial sport fishing guides who in conjunction with their Kenai River Guide
permit list that they guide from Deep Creek SRA, Ninilchik SRA, Anchor River SRA, Kasilof River SRS, Crooked
Creek SRS, Johnson Lake SRS, or Captain Cook SRA must submit a State Park Use Report for each area they are

registered. If you are an employer make sure you list ALL your employee’s names on the use report.

17. Signed Stipulations

IN PERSON PERMITTING WILL BE DONE BY APPOINTMENT ONLY. Please call 907-714-2471 to make an appointment.
We will gladly copy paperwork and add information to your file at any time.



