Division of Forestry Directory

State Forester/Director's Office

550 W. Seventh Ave., Suite 1450 
Anchorage, Alaska 99501-3566 
(907) 269-8463 / fax: (907) 269-8931

State Forester and Director 
John "Chris" Maisch 
chris.maisch@alaska.gov 
(907) 451-2666


Deputy State Forester 
Dean Brown 
dean.brown@alaska.gov 
(907) 269-8476


Statewide Regional Office

Regional Forester 
Tim Dabney 
tim.dabney@alaska.gov 
(907) 451-2670


Administrative Services 
Karlyn Herrera 
karlyn.herrera@alaska.gov 
(907) 269-8477


Forest Planner 
Jim Schwarber 
james.schwarber@alaska.gov 
(907) 451-2704


Community Forestry Program 
Vacant 
(907) 269-8465


Wildland Fire and Aviation Program

Fire Program Manager 
Tom Kurth 
tom.kurth@alaska.gov 
(907) 451-2675


National Fire Plan & Grants Coordinator 
Arlene Weber-Sword 
arlene.weber-sword@alaska.gov 
(907) 269-8471


Training/Fire Prevention 
Cindy Forrest-Elkins 
cindy.forrest@alaska.gov 
(907) 269-8441


Safety Officer 
Tom Greiling 
thomas.greiling@alaska.gov 
(907) 761-6247


Fire Prevention Officer 
Doug Albrecht 
douglas.albrecht@alaska.gov 
(907) 761-6230


Fire Support Forester 
Martin Maricle 
martin.maricle@alaska.gov 
(907) 451-2608


Aviation Supervisor 
Steve Elwell 
stephen.elwell@alaska.gov 
(907) 761-6271


Communications Coordinator 
Nate Skinner 
ETS/SATS Radio Shop
5900 East Tudor Road
Anchorage, AK 99507 
nathan.skinner@alaska.gov 
(907) 451-2810


State Fire Operations

c/o Alaska Fire Service
P.O. Box 35005
Ft. Wainwright, AK 99703
(907) 356-5850 / fax: (907) 356-5855
Robert Schmoll, Operations Forester 
robert.schmoll@alaska.gov 


Tim Mowry, Information Officer 
tim.mowry@alaska.gov 
(907) 356-5512

 

Northern Office

3700 Airport Way
Fairbanks, Alaska 99709
Reception: (907) 451-2660
Logistics: (907) 451-2680
Aviation Mgmt., Bob McAlpin
(907) 451-2691
robert.mcalpin@alaska.gov

 

 

Coastal Office

101 Airport Road
Palmer, Alaska 99645
Reception: (907) 761-6200
Logistics: (907) 761-6220
Aviation Mgmt., Christopher Olson
(907) 761-6238
chris.olson@alaska.gov

 

 

Statewide Regional

Regional Forester
Tim Dabney
tim.dabney@alaska.gov
(907) 451-2670

 

 

Fairbanks/Delta Area


Fairbanks Office

3700 Airport Way
Fairbanks, Alaska 99709
(907) 451-2600 / fax: (907) 458-6895
Burn Permits: (907) 451-2626
Fire line: (907) 451-2626
Paul Keech, Area Forester
(907) 451-2601
paul.keech@alaska.gov
Ed Sanford, Fire Management Officer
(907) 451-2634
edward.sanford@alaska.gov 


Delta Office

P.O. Box 1149
Delta Junction, Alaska 99737
(907) 895-4225 / fax: (907) 895-2125
Fire line: (907) 895-4227
Paul Keech, Area Forester
(907) 451-2601
paul.keech@alaska.gov
Mike Goyette, Fire Management Officer
(907) 895-2103
michael.goyette@alaska.gov



Tok/Copper River Area


Tok Office

Box 10
Tok, Alaska 99780
(Mile 123 Tok Cutoff)
(907) 883-1400 / fax: (907) 883-5135 
Fire line: (907) 883-3473
Jeff Hermanns, Area Forester
(907) 883-1403
jeffrey.hermanns@alaska.gov
Peter Talus, Fire Management Officer
(907) 883-1404
peter.talus@alaska.gov 


Valdez/Copper River Office

P.O. Box 185
Glennallen, Alaska 99588 
(Mile 110 Richardson Highway)
(907) 822-5534 / fax: (907) 822-8600 
Fire line: (907) 822-5533
Jeff Hermanns, Area Forester
(907) 883-1403
jeffrey.hermanns@alaska.gov
Gary Mullen, Fire Management Officer
gary.mullen@alaska.gov

 

 

Mat-Su/Southwest Area


Mat-Su Office

101 Airport Road
Palmer, Alaska 99645
(907) 761-6300 / fax: (907) 761-6319
Burn permits: (907) 761-6338
Fire line: (907) 761-6311
Rick Jandreau, Area Forester
(907) 761-6301
richard.jandreau@alaska.gov
Norm McDonald, Fire Management Officer
(907) 761-6302
norman.mcdonald@alaska.gov 


Southwest Office

Box 130
McGrath, Alaska 99627
(907) 524-3010 / fax: (907) 524-3420
Fire line: (907) 524-3366
Rick Jandreau, Area Forester
(907) 761-6301
richard.jaundreau@alaska.gov
Seth Ross, Assistant Fire Mgmt. Officer
(907) 524-0037
seth.ross@alaska.gov 


Kenai/Kodiak Area


Kenai Office

42499 Sterling Highway
Soldotna, Alaska 99669
(Mile 92.5 Sterling Highway)
(907) 260-4200 / fax: (907) 260-4205
Burn Permits: (907) 260-4269
Hans Rinke, Area Forester
(907) 260-4210
hans.rinke@alaska.gov
Howard Kent, Fire Management Officer
(907) 260-4220
howard.kent@alaska.gov 


Southeast Area


Ketchikan Office

2417 Tongass Avenue, Suite 213
Ketchikan, Alaska 99901
(907) 225-3070 / fax: (907) 247-3070
Greg Staunton, Area Forester
greg.staunton@alaska.gov 


Haines Office (seasonal)

P.O. Box 263 (Gateway Building)
Haines, Alaska 99827
(907) 766-2120 / fax: (907) 766-3225
Greg Palmieri, Forester
greg.palmieri@alaska.gov 


Juneau Office

400 Willoughby Ave.
P.O. Box 111031
Juneau, Alaska 99811
(907) 465-5406
Joel Nudelman, Forester
joel.nudelman@alaska.gov