Division of Forestry Directory

State Forester/Director's Office

550 W. Seventh Ave., Suite 1450
Anchorage, Alaska 99501-3566
(907) 269-8463 / fax: (907) 269-8931

State Forester and Director
John "Chris" Maisch
chris.maisch@alaska.gov
(907) 451-2666

Deputy State Forester
Tim Dabney
tim.dabney@alaska.gov
(907) 269-8476

Statewide Regional Office

Regional Forester
Vacant
(907) 761-6238

Administrative Services
Karlyn Herrera
karlyn.herrera@alaska.gov
(907) 269-8477

Forest Planner
Vacant

Community Forestry Program
Jim Renkert
jim.renkert@alaska.gov
(907) 269-8635

Forest Health Program
Jason Moan
jason.moan@alaska.gov
(907) 269-8460

Stewardship Program
Trevor DoBell-Carlsson
trevor.dobell@alaska.gov
(907) 761-6309

Wildland Fire and Aviation Program

Fire Program Manager
Tom Kurth
tom.kurth@alaska.gov
(907) 451-2675

National Fire Plan & Grants Coordinator
Arlene Weber-Sword
arlene.weber-sword@alaska.gov
(907) 269-8471

Training/Fire Prevention
Cindy Forrest-Elkins
cindy.forrest@alaska.gov
(907) 269-8441

Safety Officer
Tom Greiling
thomas.greiling@alaska.gov
(907) 761-6247

Fire Prevention Officer
Dan Govoni
dan.govoni@alaska.gov
(907) 761-6230

Fire Support Forester
KT Pyne
kathryn.pyne@alaska.gov
(907) 451-2608

Aviation Supervisor
Steve Elwell
stephen.elwell@alaska.gov
(907) 761-6271

Communications Coordinator
Nate Skinner
ETS/SATS Radio Shop
5900 East Tudor Road
Anchorage, AK 99507
nathan.skinner@alaska.gov
(907) 451-2810

State Fire Operations

c/o Alaska Fire Service
P.O. Box 35005
Ft. Wainwright, AK 99703
(907) 356-5850 / fax: (907) 356-5855
Robert Schmoll, Operations Forester
robert.schmoll@alaska.gov

Tim Mowry, Information Officer
tim.mowry@alaska.gov
(907) 356-5512

Northern Office

3700 Airport Way
Fairbanks, Alaska 99709
Reception: (907) 451-2660
Logistics: (907) 451-2680
Aviation Mgmt., Greg Scully (acting)
(907) 761-6334
gregory.scully@alaska.gov

Coastal Office

101 Airport Road
Palmer, Alaska 99645
Reception: (907) 761-6200
Logistics: (907) 761-6220
Aviation Mgmt., Christopher Olson
(907) 761-6238
chris.olson@alaska.gov

Statewide Regional

Regional Forester
Vacant
(907) 761-6238

Fairbanks/Delta Area

Fairbanks Office

3700 Airport Way
Fairbanks, Alaska 99709
(907) 451-2600 / fax: (907) 458-6895
Burn Permits: (907) 451-2626
Fire line: (907) 451-2626
Paul Keech, Area Forester
(907) 451-2601
paul.keech@alaska.gov
Ed Sanford, Fire Management Officer
(907) 451-2634
edward.sanford@alaska.gov

Delta Office

P.O. Box 1149
Delta Junction, Alaska 99737
(907) 895-4225 / fax: (907) 895-2125
Fire line: (907) 895-4227
Paul Keech, Area Forester
(907) 451-2601
paul.keech@alaska.gov
Mike Goyette, Fire Management Officer
(907) 895-2103
michael.goyette@alaska.gov

Tok/Copper River Area

Tok Office

Box 10
Tok, Alaska 99780
(Mile 123 Tok Cutoff)
(907) 883-1400 / fax: (907) 883-5135
Fire line: (907) 883-3473
Derek Nellis, Area Forester
(907) 883-1403
derek.nellis@alaska.gov
Peter Talus, Fire Management Officer
(907) 883-1404
peter.talus@alaska.gov

Valdez/Copper River Office

P.O. Box 185
Glennallen, Alaska 99588
(Mile 110 Richardson Highway)
(907) 822-5534 / fax: (907) 822-8600
Fire line: (907) 822-5533
Derek Nellis, Area Forester
(907) 883-1403
derek.nellis@alaska.gov
Fire Management Officer, vacant

Mat-Su/Southwest Area

Mat-Su Office

101 Airport Road
Palmer, Alaska 99645
(907) 761-6300 / fax: (907) 761-6319
Burn permits: (907) 761-6338
Fire line: (907) 761-6311
Ed Soto, Area Forester
(907) 761-6301
edward.soto@alaska.gov
Norm McDonald, Fire Management Officer
(907) 761-6302
norman.mcdonald@alaska.gov

Southwest Office

Box 130
McGrath, Alaska 99627
(907) 524-3010 / fax: (907) 524-3420
Fire line: (907) 524-3366
Ed Soto, Area Forester
(907) 761-6301
edward.soto@alaska.gov
Seth Ross, Assistant Fire Mgmt. Officer
(907) 524-0037
seth.ross@alaska.gov

Kenai/Kodiak Area

Kenai Office

42499 Sterling Highway
Soldotna, Alaska 99669
(Mile 92.5 Sterling Highway)
(907) 260-4200 / fax: (907) 260-4205
Burn Permits: (907) 260-4269
Hans Rinke, Area Forester
(907) 260-4210
hans.rinke@alaska.gov
Howard Kent, Fire Management Officer
(907) 260-4220
howard.kent@alaska.gov

Southeast Area

Ketchikan Office

2417 Tongass Avenue, Suite 213
Ketchikan, Alaska 99901
(907) 225-3070 / fax: (907) 247-3070
Greg Staunton, Area Forester
greg.staunton@alaska.gov

Haines Office (seasonal)

P.O. Box 263 (Gateway Building)
Haines, Alaska 99827
(907) 766-2120 / fax: (907) 766-3225
Greg Palmieri, Forester
greg.palmieri@alaska.gov

Juneau Office

400 Willoughby Ave.
P.O. Box 111031
Juneau, Alaska 99811
(907) 465-5406
Joel Nudelman, Forester
joel.nudelman@alaska.gov