Forest Stewardship Committee

The Division of Forestry is assisted by the Alaska Forest Stewardship Committee in implementing the Forest Stewardship Program. The Committee is comprised of landowners, organizations, and government agencies with experience and commitment to private forest stewardship. Individuals interested in participating on the Forest Stewardship Committee should contact the program coordinator. The committee usually meets twice each year.

Committee Members

  • Dr. Valeria Barber, University of Alaska
  • Danny Consenstein, USDA Farm Service Agency, Palmer
  • Jim Durst, Alaska Department of Fish and Game, Fairbanks
  • Clare Doig, Consulting Forester, Anchorage
  • Mike Green, Private Forest Landowner, Fairbanks
  • George Matz, Private Forest Landowner, Homer
  • Dorothy Melambianakis, Kachemak Heritage Land Trust
  • Mitch Michaud, USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service, Kenai
  • Tom Dearlove, Kenai Peninsula Borough, Soldotna
  • Dan Parrent, USDA Forest Service, Anchorage
  • Phil Shepard, Great Land Trust
  • Will Putman, Tanana Chiefs Conference, Fairbanks