Skip to content

Alaska Division of Forestry Overview

The mission of the Division of Forestry is to develop, conserve, and enhance Alaska's forests to provide a sustainable supply of forest resources for Alaskans.

The Division of Forestry:

  • Protects water quality, fish and wildlife habitat, and other forest values through appropriate forest practices and administration of the Forest Resources and Practices Act;
  • Manages a wildland fire program on public, private, and municipal lands;
  • Encourages development of the timber industry and forest products markets;
  • Manages the Haines, Southeast and Tanana Valley state forests (over two million acres);
  • Conducts timber sales for personal and commercial use and for fuel-wood;
  • Administers the Community Forestry, Conservation Education, Forest Health, and Stewardship programs;
  • Gives technical assistance to forest landowners.

The office of State Forester Helge Eng is located at the central office in Anchorage. The central office provides policy and program direction, while two regional offices and eight area offices are responsible for program support and fieldwork.

The Division of Forestry is bound by the Alaska statutes and administrative code sections that directly govern forest management activities on state forest land.

We invite you to view the following PowerPoint presentation for an orientation to the Division of Forestry's programs.

Division of Forestry Orientation (PPT) (52 MB)

Division of Forestry Strategic Plans

Division of Forestry Summary Brochures

Division of Forestry Statewide Forest Action Plans

Division of Forestry Annual Reports

Forestry Issues in Alaska