Alaska Community Forest Council

Alaska Community Forest Council at the University of
Alaska Anchorage on May 8, 2015.

The Alaska Community Forest Council is a nonprofit organization with 15 members from across the state. Members advise the Division of Forestry on how to develop and deliver community forestry programs to Alaskans, support education, and encourage public involvement. Members make recommendations on the criteria, guidelines, and award of community forestry grants from the division. The council meets four times a year and holds regular teleconferences. All meetings are open to the public.

Alaska Community Forest Council factsheet (PDF)

Alaska Community Forest Council Bylaws (Word)

Alaska Community Forest Council & Division of Forestry Memorandum of Understanding (PDF)

Alaska Community Forest Council Minutes (PDF)


Arbor Day Grants Awarded

The Alaska Community Forest Council has awarded grants to communities and organizations across the state to celebrate Arbor Day and the benefits of trees. The council funded the grants using council funds, a grant from the Alaska Community Forestry Program, and a donation from the Alaska Chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects.

Grants have been awarded to the following:

  • Anchorage Girl Scout Troop 550$200
  • University of Alaska Anchorage$75
  • Anchorage Parks Foundation$300
  • Anchorage Federation of Community Councils for Government Hill Community Orchard$300
  • Anchorage Federation of Community Councils for Northeast Community Council$300
  • Joint Base Elmendorf/Richardson for Mount Spurr Elementary School$500
  • Friends of Eagle River Nature Center$500
  • Mat Su/Copper River 4-H Volunteer Leaders Assn. & UAF Experimental Farm, Palmer$500
  • City of Palmer$250
  • Wrangell Institute for Science and Environment, Copper Center$300
  • University of Alaska Fairbanks and One Tree Alaska$500
  • Fairbanks Soil and Water Conservation District for Fairbanks Arbor Day Committee$300
  • Wilderness Retreats for Vets, Bethel$300
  • Mountain View Elementary, Kenai$300
  • Kaleidoscope School of Arts and Science, Kenai$315.05
  • Homer 4-H Club$145
  • Center for Alaskan Coastal Studies, Homer$300
  • Fawn Mountain Elementary, Ketchikan$200
  • Metlakatla Indian Community$300
  • Sitka Conservation Society and Alaska Way of Life 4-H Program$500
  • City and Borough of Sitka$425
  • Raven Correspondence School, Juneau$189.95
  • TOTAL$7,000
Documents in PDF format require Adobe Acrobat Reader to view, save or print.